Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Home > News > Music News > Blur’s new album The Magic Whip

Blur’s new album The Magic Whip

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Blur recently announced they are planning to release a new studio album, The Magic Whip. It will be their first studio album in 12 years, set to release on 27 April 2015.

The last studio album was ‘Think Tank’ in 2003, but what makes this album special is that it is the first studio album including guitarist Graham Coxon since ‘13’ was released in 1999.

During Blur’s world tour in 2013, the band became stranded in Hong Kong due to a cancelled festival in Japan. So with nothing to pass the time, they booked themselves into Avon studios for five days to lay down some tunes.

There was a lot of speculation as to whether or not the recordings would ever reach the public ear, with Damon Albarn stating in an interview that he was not sure if they would be released.

Graham Coxon had other ideas, and with Albarn’s approval he went in to the studio with producer Stephen Street to do further work on the recordings. Stephen Street has worked previously birth Blur on their self titled album in 1997 and has since worked with Graham Coxon’s solo albums.

While Coxon was in the studio working away on the album, Albarn was completing his world tour of his recent solo album ‘Everyday Robots’. On his way back to the UK, he stopped into Hong Kong once again to gain some lyrical inspiration. The vocals were completed in January and the album mastered in February.

The Magic Whip track list below.

  1. Lonesome Street
  2. New World Towers
  3. Go Out
  4. Ice Cream Man
  5. Thought I Was a Spaceman
  6. I Broadcast
  7. My Terracotta Heart
  8. There Are Too Many of Us
  9. Ghost Ship
  10. Pyongyang
  11. Ong Ong
  12. Mirrorball

If you can’t wait for the release date in April you can have a listen to ‘Go Out’ on you tube.


[/vc_column_text][vc_video link=”http://youtu.be/Sp1ks7PTzng “][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Kate Webster
Kate Webster
Kate Webster is a travel journalist - travel writer and photographer who travels the globe in search of vivid imagery and compelling stories that capture the essence of the places she visits. Born out of a life-long love of travel and fascination with the world around her, is Kate's inspiration behind her writing and photography. A passion of the ocean has lead Kate to be a part of Global Surf Sounds, as she continues to mix her love of travel and writing to now include surfing. When she’s not bouncing around the world on ramshackle buses, overcrowded trains, or on the back of a rickshaw, you can find her based in Sydney or the Gold Coast, Australia eagerly planning her next adventure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *