Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Home > News > Music News > Muse To Release New Album ‘Drones’

Muse To Release New Album ‘Drones’

Muse are to release a new studio album on the 8th June 2015. Set to be stripped back and more rock based than the last two albums, ‘Drones’ is going to be a return to their rocking roots.

The previous two albums ‘The Resistance’ and ‘The Second Law’ heard Muse put a lot more orchestra and electronic sounds into their songs. ‘Drones’ appears to be putting emphasis on filthy guitar and rocking drums, you can hear this on one of the new album tracks ‘Psycho’.

When Muse began writing the 7th album Matt Bellamy stated that the album “should be something that really does strip away the additional things that we’ve experimented with on the last two albums… I kind of feel like it will be nice to reconnect and remind ourselves of just the basics of who we are”.  Answering fan questions on Twitter in September 2014, Bellamy said the album’s themes include deep “ecology, the empathy gap, and World War III.”

The first single from this new album is ‘Dead Inside’ and is not quite so rock but very Muse, quite catchy and clean sounding. It is the opening track of the new album and is the beginning of a journey that begins with a relationship breakdown, you can listen here.

In October 2014, Muse entered a studio in Toronto. The album was produced by AC/DC producer Robert John “Mutt” Lange. The first recording session ended on 19 October, with the band calling it “emotional”. Muse re-entered the studio in November 2014.

From Matt Bellamy: “To me, ‘Drones’ are metaphorical psychopaths which enable psychopathic behaviour with no recourse.  The world is run by Drones utilizing Drones to turn us all into Drones.  This album explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope, to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors.”

1. Dead Inside
2. [Drill Sergeant]
3. Psycho
4. Mercy
5. Reapers
6. The Handler
7. [JFK]
8. Defector
9. Revolt
10. Aftermath
11. The Globalist
12. Drones

Co-produced by Muse and Robert John “Mutt” Lange

To find out more like tour dates and for links to iTunes etc. you can visit their website http://muse.mu/

Kate Webster
Kate Webster
Kate Webster is a travel journalist - travel writer and photographer who travels the globe in search of vivid imagery and compelling stories that capture the essence of the places she visits. Born out of a life-long love of travel and fascination with the world around her, is Kate's inspiration behind her writing and photography. A passion of the ocean has lead Kate to be a part of Global Surf Sounds, as she continues to mix her love of travel and writing to now include surfing. When she’s not bouncing around the world on ramshackle buses, overcrowded trains, or on the back of a rickshaw, you can find her based in Sydney or the Gold Coast, Australia eagerly planning her next adventure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *